The Phone Call

I spoke with my childhood abuser last night.

Out of mania, or compulsion, impulse, or maybe just the simple need for closure, I sent him a Facebook message yesterday asking him to please talk to me.

My childhood abuser is my cousin. When I was 12, I was raped and repeatedly sexually abused by this man, then 38. For years my family swept my trauma under the rug (they still do, for the most part).

Yesterday something pulled me to message him. I’ve done this before. I’ve texted him, called him, have pleaded for him to acknowledge me in my adulthood for the pain he’s caused me. He has never responded to me; until last night.

I received a phone call and I knew it was his number. My heart kind of froze. I thought for a split second about not answering it, but I did.

His voice was eerily comforting. I almost… missed him. I felt relieved to hear his familiar lowness, the scratch in his voice.

He thanked me for the message, that he’s happy I reached out. He was happy to see me at our cousin’s wedding a few weeks ago. He cares about me, he loves me. He wants to talk to me and give me that acknowledgement.

My logic told me to be cold and angry, yet I found myself asking him (as I’ve always done before), “How are you? Are you okay? How are the girls? You’re still working for the same company? Thank you for calling me… ” It seems the effects of Stockholm Syndrome were still present.

My body was shaking from the adrenaline, yet I felt nothing. There were no emotions on the surface, nor deep down. There was nothing to pull out. No anger, no fear, no sadness.

He wants to set up a time to meet with me and talk. I want that, too. I want so badly to hear from him, face to face, what he did.

5 thoughts on “The Phone Call

  1. ladymigraine365 says:

    Be careful. He never said he was going to admit wrongdoing or talk about the abuse. He may just want to start the cycle of abuse again. This sounds dangerous for you. Do you have someone in your life right now to keep an eye on the situation? Your girlfriend, a therapist?

    Liked by 2 people

    • lazarus says:

      Thank you for the concern! It’ll be in a public place. I’m sure my girlfriend would go with me. I talked to my therapist about this yesterday as well. I think it’ll be okay. I’m not worried about my physical safety; I’m more preparing myself for the mental after effects

      xoxo

      Like

  2. velyoung01 says:

    Indeed! I’m praying that the deep scars from your past would heal completely, and that you would feel renewed! You are loved, treasured and play a significant part in the world…! xoxo ❤ V

    Like

Leave a Reply

