Losing Ulla

Tears pushing through…

I miss you, Ulla. I miss you. Even though I’ve never met you in person, I’ve never even heard your voice, you were there for me 2 years ago when I needed support. You helped guide me and shared my dark humour.

You are loved.

Birth of a New Brain

20150518_065519

Ulla’s dog Solo

Ulla. Where do I begin?

When I told someone yesterday my friend died by suicide, adding that we never met face-to-face, I sensed that she didn’t understand the power of a virtual friendship.

Of course that’s not her fault – if you haven’t experienced being friends with an online “kindred spirit”, it’s hard to relate to the idea. But I was frustrated all the same because it was a genuine friendship.

How I hate writing that word “was”.

Ulla was a better friend to me than most of the friends I’ve ever had; hell, she was there for me during some of my toughest times far more than some of my relatives.

Oh Ulla.

She supported my writing, and — this was big– she helped me grieve my father’s death. She truly understood what it was like to lose a parent since she had been through it too.

She sent me…

View original post 553 more words

2 thoughts on “Losing Ulla

  1. ladymigraine365 says:

    I am so sad about this. I never connected with her personally, and yet reading the comments on her last post, tears dripping down my face… damn this disease, taking such vibrant souls. I was happy to see though that an in-person friend reached out and so willingly shared her email and kind thoughts. Take care of you and yours, lady. ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

