“Operation Self-Esteem–Day Fucking One.”

This weekend I will be taking myself on a much needed spiritual break to an ashram. I’ve been wanting to visit one for a long while now, and I think now is the time. I have found myself spinning in circles simply because of my attachment to people and things and habits. I need to pull myself away, even if just for a day and breathe.

This particular ashram practices Seva.

“Seva” is a Sanskrit word meaning “selfless service” or work performed without any thought of reward or repayment. In ancient India seva believed to help one’s spiritual growth and at the same time contribute to the improvement of a community.

In the ashram, seva is observed during Amrit Vela, otherwise known as the ambrosial hours which refers to the early morning period of time sometime between 3:00am and 6:00am or before the dawning of the morning sun which is used for daily meditation and recitation of Gurbani hymns.

Ishnan Seva takes place, which is the washing of the marble floors in the Guru’s temple. Communal chanting and prayer happens while devotees wash the floors with milk and water, cleansing the marble and cleansing their souls. (Actually, I’m pretty sure there is a scene in Eat, Pray, Love where this is demonstrated!)

Afterwards, there is morning group meditation and kirtan chanting.

I am beginning to realize that I need to take more time for myself and work on nurturing the inner parts of me. This is good. I will be back with an update from the weekend.

 

“I was full of a hot, powerful sadness and would have loved to burst into the comfort of tears, but tried hard not to, remembering something my Guru once said — that you should never give yourself a chance to fall apart because, when you do, it becomes a tendency and it happens over and over again. You must practice staying strong, instead.” -Elizabeth Gilbert

3 thoughts on ““Operation Self-Esteem–Day Fucking One.”

  1. jazzthursdays says:

    I love this! I’m also excited to read( hopefully you post) about this experience.
    I really enjoy mindfulness and meditation as a form of self-care. Which i also come to a realization one time that I needed more of. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

