Us.

no one will ever reach those parts of me.
the parts that eat chocolate chip pancakes,
the parts that believe that dinosaurs are still real.

no one will ever reach those parts of me.
the parts that smoke cigarettes until they cough smoke,
the parts that are abrasive yet soft in the center.

no one will ever reach those parts of me.
the parts that believe that sex is the only answer,
the parts that thought they had to be violent.

no one will ever reach those parts of me.
the parts that wear ribbons in their hair,
the parts with a sweet, velvety southern lilt.

no one will ever reach those parts of me.
the parts that believe they are unlovable,
the parts that suffered in the ward.

no one will ever reach those parts of me.
the parts that believe in happiness,
the parts right before the teenage years crumbled.

no one will ever reach those parts of me.
the parts that are original,
the parts that are me, just me.

no one will ever reach those parts of me.
except for you.

Leave a Reply

