Ready Rock Roulette – Trigger Warning Poetry on Heroin

H is for hell.
I should know, I wear it well.
Am I awake, am I asleep?
I don’t know, I can’t tell.

E is for Earth.
From the ground it is birthed.
20 bucks for a hit?
But what is it worth?

R is for relapse
Where the fuck is my blue strap?
Hand me my needle
before I collapse.

O is for overdose.
Sunken-eyed comatose.
Sinking on the floor
clutching my bloody nose.

I is for ill.
I get sick without a pill.
and to think all I wanted
was to catch a fucking thrill.

N is night sweats.
First-time-shoot-up regrets.
Start back up in the morning,
call it Ready Rock Roulette.

2 thoughts on “Ready Rock Roulette – Trigger Warning Poetry on Heroin

Leave a Reply

