Malingerers- The Bitching Edition

Please excuse my dear aunt Sally.

Please excuse this second post, seeing as I’ve already written one post 5 minutes ago, but I have something on my mind and I didn’t want to smoosh it on the tail-end of my previous entry.

Malingering.

I have spotted- or think I have spotted- a potential malingerer in my vicinity and I would like to take a moment (just sit right there I’ll tell you how I became the prince of a town called Bel Air) …take a moment and vent a little bit.

Malingering is so goddamn stupid. Not only stupid, but ignorant, hurtful, and dangerous. It’s hurtful because malingering is offensive to those of us who are doing the work. We struggle with real issues. It’s not a walk in the park. It sucks, it hurts, and a lot of the time, people die over this shit. So, I don’t see why anyone in their right mind (maybe that’s the problem, they’re not in their right mind) would want to brand themselves with a disorder. It’s not a badge of honor.

It’s hurtful because of THEIR ignorance, WE have to suffer the misconceptions of the disorder WE have to live with. Malingerers create such erroneous portrayals of real mental illness.

It’s NOT a game.

Yes, it IS obvious they’re pulling “symptoms” out of their arse.

God bless America. WordPress, I’m sorry for the whiny bitching. Thank you for reading.

I’m also real sick and tired of hearing of/seeing people zoom over to Web MD and self diagnosing. Oh. Oh man. I can’t. I can’t even.

Here’s a great little number from one of my favorite bloggers, Autumn Asphodel. Take it away, Autumn:

2 thoughts on “Malingerers- The Bitching Edition

  1. kbailey374 says:

    The only problem w/ this is those of us w/ actual mental illness who blame ourselves for not being able to do this, or that. And say, “You’re just being lazy. You ought to be working. You just aren’t trying hard enough.”

    But I do know what you are saying about the others, I do I do…

    (loved the Prince of Bel Aire reference, made me laugh!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

