Day 6- 31 Days of Bipolar

6. What do you wish you’d known when you were diagnosed?

I wish someone had actually sat down with me to break down the diagnoses when I was a teen. I didn’t know what bipolar was. I didn’t know what psychosis entailed. I didn’t know if I should tell people, if I should keep it a secret. I also wish someone would have told me the side effects of the medication. I thought I was dying!

I wish I’d known that there are a lot of people out there, people you love and trust, who will turn their backs on you when they hear your diagnoses. I wish I had been giving coping strategies- or at least better ones.

It’s a scary thing for someone to diagnose you. Granted, I knew I was unwell. I seemed to be having a much tougher time than the other girls and their hormones. But, there is a very bleak and shameful feeling that comes along with an Rx. Sometimes, I still feel that way.

Leave a Reply

